Beginning the Last Semester of High School

Beginning the Last Semester of High School
Is it scary or just another mile stone we must pass?

        In grade nine, it’s exciting when it’s last semester because it means that even after summer, you are able to spend three more years with the amazing people you have met. But it’s different for us, we don’t get second chances to undo the wrongs we have committed, we don’t have a few more years to fix our mistakes. Rather we have a few months, months that will pass by so quickly you won’t even realize it. When you look at it now, out of all the friends you have lost, new ones you have met and what will happen next. It’s can be a scary thought to think about. Growing up. I’m currently 17 years old, and to be honest. I’m not ready to finish high school, for I have only just discovered what I want to do in life, and even then, I am not entirely sure either. The point of high school was to prepare you for the outside world and what it has to offer. It’s a chance to grow as individuals, find out your likes and dislikes. But most importantly, what you want to become in life. Most people have planned out what they want to be since a very young age. As for me, I have never known. To only chose one career path and be told to stick to it for the rest of my life, is an impossible decision. I don’t want to be categorized in just one profession, but rather dozens.

        Although with that being said, ironically I can’t wait to get out of high school. I can’t wait to get out travel, meet new people and not feel so secluded in the small town I live in. Although I grew up in a much bigger town than I am currently living in and only moved when I was half way done high school. I love the countryside more than anything; the air feels cleaner instead of congested which I felt all the time. I feel as if I can finally breathe again. High school has that effect on me, at times I feel congested – unable to breathe. Last semester of grade 12 seems to be the worst. There’s too much pressure, too many expectations from your parents and schools that you are applying to. Then there is always that burning question of “is this the right decision?” or “how am I going to afford all this?”

        There are always pros and cons of graduating high school. It’s the bright side you always have to look at because in the end the “pros” is what is going to get you smiling at the end of the day. The freedom is the main thing I am looking forward to. The chance that for once, I will be doing something that I want to do and not what people force me into. I’m sure I’ll miss it, high school, who wouldn’t. But right now in this moment in time, high school is already a memory for me and I’m just waiting for the fun to start. 

Leave a Reply

